Dry Shampoo? Mheh.

As I wrote about earlier, I decided to buy into the “dry shampoo” fad and bought Dirty Secret Dry Shampoo.

I can’t say I had great hopes for this product, as there is only so much any product can do, but I have to say I’m not very impressed.  It is good at soaking up oil so that your hair doesn’t look greasy, but at a cost.  By definition, it’s oil-soaking abilities dries out the hair, and it looks and feels that way.  It also makes it feel kind of crinkly and crunchy.  Not a plus.

And…it comes out white and really doesn’t fade too well, so if your hair is brown or darker, it might look like you used spray hair color at your roots.

So, back to the store it goes.

And because someone said my hair smelled like beer, the Tigi Fun Times Flexible Hairspray goes back too.  (and yes, Jack, I’m talking about you).

In other beauty news…My latest obsession has been reading beauty blogs and watching hair and make up tutorials on YouTube.  I’ve always thought of myself as a bit of a blush-tard because I really didn’t know what color to use or how to properly apply it.  But, after watching some beauty gurus like Lollipop26 and ItsJudyTime on YouTube, I’ve garnered some courage.

So, when I was in Wal*Mart the other day, I was perusing the makeup section and picked up these:

The N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powder (top) in Peach Glow is a really nice color.  After my disasterous experience with the much famed NARS Orgasm blush, I swore off any kind of peachy, coraly color for years.  BUT, I decided to try again and voila!  Love it!

Below is a Physicians Formula Shimmer Strip in Vegas Strip.  I’ve seen tons of videos using the MAC Mineralized Skin Finishes, but since there is not a Sephora or MAC store near me, and I didn’t want to spend the $30 on a product I couldn’t test out beforehand, I picked this up to play around with.

I like the color, kind of a champagne and tan combo, and the shimmer is just enough.  I use it as a highlighter on my cheekbones (when I can find them).

And another form-following-function design I found was this:

(sorry for the bad picture…using my iPhone)

This is N.Y.C. Sparkle Eye Dust in Smokey Topaz.  I love the color and the consistency, but most of all, love the packaging!  Mineral makeup is very popular, but can be very messy.  This bottle is perfect.  The top screws on, not snap, so it’s much more secure.  It has a built in brush, and there is a funnel type cover that the brush fits into that doesn’t let the powder fly all over the place.  GENIUS!

I’m off to finish my Christmas shopping…I’m beginning to think that once a year is too much.  How about having Christmas like Leap Year?  Or maybe we can have a certain number of excused absences?  Oh well…I tried.

Leave a Reply

