Where would Jesus shop? Forever 21, apparently.

This is a buzz kill of epic proportions.  I only recently became familiar with the cheap shopping mecca that is Forever 21.  I’m late on this bandwagon because I thought that:

a)  all the styles would be incredibly age inappropriate for me, and

b)  that they would have some kind of age-o-meter that would go off when I entered and I would be put into old lady jail.

Amazingly, neither are true.

Granted, I couldn’t shop for business attire there, but their selection of cute, trendy tops, combined with very cheap, very nice accessories has turned me into a F21-aholic.

Now…to the buzz kill.

After one glorious shopping experience there, I was busily taking my haul out of my F21 bag and noticed this:

damn.

I froze.  No, it can’t be, I thought…maybe it’s some kind of mistake.  Maybe John was the name of the bag inspector.

I am not religious…at all.  Not even a little.  The most religious thing in my house is this…

…bought purely for the kitsch-factor.

I haven’t owned a bible since my confirmation (which was a year later than expected because our entire class was expelled…long story) so I did the next best thing.  Google.

The passage in question says, “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

Hmm…not sure what the point of putting it on their bags is.  Recruitment?  Some kind of cult communication?  Does shopping there get your hand stamped for admission into eternal life?

I don’t know, but I’m still happily in the non-religious category.

If there does happen to be a god, however, I’m pretty sure she would want me to shop at a store stocked with cheap clothing and accessories made in a sweat shop halfway around the world by underage girls working 14 hour days for less than $5.

God bless America indeed.

Leave a Reply

