I have been mistaken for a hooker not once … but twice

This puzzles me.  Granted, the first time I was probably just in the wrong place.  But the SECOND time…not so sure.

Let me begin my defense by saying that in both instances, I was dressed like a student (the first time) and like a soccer mom (the second time).

As evidence, I present photos of my closet:

Exhibit A: Note the neutral colors, the long sleeves...there's houndstooth for Christ's sake!

Exhibit B: Hookers don't read Ayn Rand!

So, the first time, I was about 25 or 26 and was working a night job at an answering service while going to college during the day.   Their office was located in a converted old Victorian house with a large front porch, so on a smoke break one night (yes, I used to smoke), I was sitting on the porch steps, puffing away (it was about 10pm) and this young guy in a truck drives by slowly and asks me if I am “looking to party.”

Now, I was pretty naive and had no idea what he meant, so naturally I asked him to repeat himself.  Again, “Are you looking to party?”

Finally, I just said, “Um…no.”  And he drove away.

When I told friends about this they just laughed and laughed and said, “DUH!  He thought you were a hooker!!”  I was shocked.

The second time happened about a year ago.  I was walking from my office to Dunkin Donuts, in the middle of the afternoon, to get a coffee and a truck (apparently, “Johns” drive trucks) pulled up next to me and they asked me the same thing again.  These guys, however, had such a thick accent I couldn’t understand them at first.  I thought they were asking for directions so I kept saying, “Excuse me?” like some dork.

Finally I realized I was yet again mistaken for a hooker, shook my head and walked off to console myself with a coffee.  Bear in mind, this was during the day, I was wearing jeans, a long sleeved shirt, a black puffy LL Bean vest and clogs…CLOGS!!!  Hookers don’t wear clogs!  They wear hooker shoes!!!

So my question is:  Have you ever been mistaken for a hooker?  Please?  Anyone??

8 Responses to “I have been mistaken for a hooker not once … but twice”

  1. Houndstooth Says:

    I’m going to be honest, I’ve been mistaken for a lot of things, but never a hooker!

  2. Luda Says:

    My Mummy sez this prolly haz less to do with yoo and more to do wif jerks in trucks.

    Yer pal,
    Luda

  3. Kelly Says:

    haha, thats funny! Merry Christmas 😉

  4. Mau Says:

    I have! Many times – when I was young and working as a bartender… Some people/man think that bartender = hooker and the tip will buy you. Well, I usually took the tip and told them then to f*** off… So at the end of the day it was the money of stupid men that bought all my shoes and sunglasses… 🙂 It was, I have to admit, very satisfying!!

  5. Mango Says:

    I am not sure what a hooker person is. I have seen a TV show called TJ Hooker which has that Captain Kirk guy in it but I am pretty sure his uniform did not come from LLBean. He was kind of a party guy, though what with his alien romances and what not.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  6. Kelly Says:

    haha the stuffed animals do purr and close their eyes and when they are on a certain setting they do not stop it is pretty weird 😉

Leave a Reply

