Let there be light!

I thought I’d take a break from patting myself on the back to share my miraculous home improvement event!  Yes, that’s right.  I changed a light fixture!  All. By. My. Self.

When I bought my place, I was blessed to have it come with original ceiling lights.  And by “original” I mean hideous and cheap.  As proof, here is the vomit-inducing fixture I was set on replacing.

Blech!

As a bonus, it is not centered over anything.  It is midway between the kitchen, where there is (yes!) another light just like it, and the dining area.  I have no idea why they put it there, other than they were probably drunk.

Because of its off-centered-ness, I wanted to get some kind of track lighting so that I could re-position the light.  And there was no way I was getting any ceiling fixture with a “swag” involved.  So I went to my local Home Depot where they assured me that I could install this myself, even though it involved wires.

I picked up this little number.

Here are the innerds.

And a scant hour later….voila!

Now, you may be saying to yourself, “Hey, that doesn’t look like the image on the box!”

Yes, that’s right.  The image is a bit deceiving.  It looks like there is LOTS of track to twist around and make fun shapes.  Not so.  And, it was not exactly easy to bend, especially by yourself, on a step latter, trying to line it up in the ceiling anchors.

But, all in all, I’m happy with the outcome.

And lucky me, I have many more of these hideous ceiling fixtures to replace.  I might save them all and take them out back to beat the crap out of them when I’m done.

11 Responses to “Let there be light!”

  1. cyndi Says:

    Nicely done! If you want to come practice at my place, come on by!

  2. Kari Says:

    way to go! better than I would have done

  3. Dennis the Vizsla Says:

    “Adequate length of track not included”

  4. janice Says:

    tracking lights are kewl–but the decieving display pic is not!

  5. Houndstooth Says:

    It looks awesome! When you get done there, we have a few that could be replaced!

  6. Nancy L Says:

    ooo very pretty…you must be so proud

  7. Salinger The Pug Says:

    WOOOOW!! (long low whistle…)

    We’re totally impressed! Mom thought she was hot shit for replacing a handle on the toilet while dad was out of town…but it certainly didn’t involve ELECTRICITY!!!

    Mom bows to your home improvement prowess!!!

    Nice job!

    Love,
    S-Dog

  8. Mau Says:

    Looks cool! We have the same issue here in Australia – the people that fit houses with lights always seem to be on very bad drugs 😦 It took me quite a while to get used to it as in Germany flats come without lights – just the wire hanging out of the ceiling, a light bulb if you are lucky…

  9. Joe Stains Says:

    oooh that looks pretty!! You will feel so good smashing the crap out of those fugly things!!

Leave a Reply

